A fresh start

It’s been a while. Sorry about that. Been recovering by myself. Getting the help and support I need is helping me out somewhat. I spoke to my friends and family, instead of living in the past, the future or even my mind I should instead be focusing on the present. My studies, my health and just being happy. This song is written to ‘Through Glass’ by Stone Sour. Firstly I am going to list my interpretation of the song because it has a massive impact on the poem I was writing, then I will actually post the poem.

The song to me describes struggles with mental health, and people or things battering down your armour. Cutting you and leaving scars which aren’t necessarily seen by the naked eye but which are hidden. Hidden by a façade, a mask you put on for the audience or the ‘stars’ and you live in a lie. That being alone is often comforting. Realistically this song means a lot to me for several reasons but this one is the most important.

Darkness, and lightness,
madness and calmness,
happiness and sadness.
Friends and family,
they have supported me,
and shown me I ament alone.

I was truly surprised by who
came out of the woodwork
to show their support, I didn’t expect
some of the help I found,
such a disastrous event, me becoming ill,
brought me closer to some.

I drown the thoughts out with music,
turned up to the highest volume,
until you can feel the beat in your temples,
I seek refuge in music and writing,
I don’t really have a reason for what I listen to,
I just listen to whatever takes my whim.

I am fine, I am doing good,
smiling and happy,
happier than I ever have been,
getting myself back on track,
having a fresh start, and I am trying my hardest
at my studies and wanting to pass this year.

I have a goal to work towards,
getting better, and looking after myself,
I am done with the whole tragedy scene,
I want to pursue a stronger story,
one where I can excel, and enjoy,
not one where I am always sad.

© Kirsty Young and My Place of Dreams. All rights reserved unless prior permission is given by the author.

Leave a comment